Steak ‘N Shake To Return As Sponsor Of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Indy Car Entry For Third Season

PR Newswire — February 15, 2017

BROWNSBURG, Ind., Feb. 15, 2017 /PRNewswire/ — Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
(RLL) announced today that Steak ‘n Shake, a classic American brand and home of
the original Steakburger(TM) and hand-dipped milkshakes, will return for a third
season of sponsorship after a successful partnership in 2015 and 2016.

Steak ‘n Shake will be the primary sponsor of Graham Rahal’s Honda entry at four
Verizon IndyCar Series events in 2017 including races in St. Petersburg, the
Indianapolis 500, Mid-Ohio, and a new venue for the partnership – the race at
Gateway Motorsports Park, outside St. Louis, a key market for the company. Maxim
Magazine branding will continue to be prominently featured on the race car. Both
are owned by Biglari Holdings Inc.

“The partnership with Rahal, Letterman and Lanigan has exceeded all
expectations. We’re excited to support such a legendary team in its efforts for
another winning season,” said Sardar Biglari, Founder, Chairman and Chief
Executive Officer of Biglari Holdings Inc.

In 2017, the sponsorship will build on the successes of previous years with the
return of the Steak ‘n Shake bow-tie themed fire suit and the continuation of
the signature Graham Rahal Milkshake, created exclusively by Steak ‘n Shake.
This season will also include in-store fan events with appearances by Graham
Rahal and the #15 Steak ‘n Shake Indy car. Additionally, fans will be able to
enjoy a new fan event in St. Louis to celebrate the return of IndyCar to one of
Steak ‘n Shake’s largest markets in August at Gateway Motorsports Park.

“It’s great to have Steak ‘n Shake on board for another season,” added Bobby
Rahal, co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. “Since the beginning of the
partnership, it has been a great pleasure working with Sardar Biglari and
everyone at Steak ‘n Shake. The pride they have in their company and their
enthusiasm for Indy car racing is impressive. The fan support also continues to
be a source of pride for the team and we can’t thank the fans enough for all of
the positive reinforcement. We are going to do everything in our power to
produce another race-winning season for Steak ‘n Shake as well as our other

In 2016, Graham Rahal was a major factor in two of the most exciting races of
the season, the Honda Indy at Barber Motorsports Park where he finished second
to eventual champion Simon Pagenaud, and in the Firestone 600, where he won by
the closest margin of victory at Texas Motor Speedway and fifth closest in
INDYCAR series history. For the second consecutive year, Rahal ended the season
as the highest-ranked Honda-powered driver in fifth place after a total of four
podium finishes and eight top-five finishes.

The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season begins March 10-12 with the Firestone
Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. Graham Rahal won the event in 2008 and won pole in
2009 – both feats earned him the distinction of being the youngest in series
history to do so. For more details about the Series, please visit

About Steak ‘n Shake Inc.
Steak ‘n Shake, a classic American brand, serves premium burgers and shakes in
more than 550 restaurants across the country and the world. Founded in 1934 in
Normal, Illinois, Steak ‘n Shake is the leader in the “better burger” segment of
the restaurant industry, serving hand-crafted, premium Steakburgers and
hand-dipped milkshakes. Steak ‘n Shake is the recipient of the Nation’s
Restaurant News Golden Chain Award. Zagat has recognized Steak ‘n Shake as
having the No. 1 Milkshake. Steak ‘n Shake Inc., based out of Indianapolis,
Indiana, is a wholly owned subsidiary of Biglari Holdings Inc.

About Maxim Inc.
Maxim Magazine is a luxury lifestyle brand in the United States and
internationally. The company is based in New York, New York. Maxim Inc. is a
wholly-owned subsidiary of Biglari Holdings Inc.

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Brownsburg, Ind., is
co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby
Rahal, former CBS Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike
Lanigan. In 2017 the team will compete in their 26th year of open wheel
competition and attempt to add to their 23 wins – including the 2004 Indy 500
from pole with Buddy Rice — their 29 poles, 91 podium finishes and 1992 series
championship. The team also competed in the American Le Mans Series from
2009-2013 as BMW Team RLL where they won both the Manufacturer and Team
Championships in the GT category in 2010 and swept all three GT titles in 2011 –
Manufacturer, Team and Driver. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team
Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team
finished second in the Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship. In 2014, BMW
Team RLL moved to the GTLM class of the United SportsCar Championship with a
two-car program and earned six podium finishes including four second-place
finishes. In 2015, the team earned three wins, two poles and a total of eight
podiums to finish second in the Manufacturer, Team and Driver championships and
in 2016, BMW Team RLL added two poles and three podiums with their BMW M6 GTLM
entries to bring their current total to 13 wins, 22 poles and 60 podium

To view the original version on PR Newswire,

SOURCE Steak ‘n Shake

Subject Codes: PC/t.170215093913488, PT/lang.en, IN/REA, IN/ENT, IN/SSE,
PC/priority.r, PC/category.f, PC/DataFeat_indpr,
PC/DataFeat_natl3, PC/port_32, PC/class.1242,
PC/WAVO_….e., PC/APT_….e, PC/trade_e, PC/wavo5_e,
PC/class.1030, PC/WAVO_l….., PC/APT_l…., PC/state_l,
PC/wavo1_l, PC/class.1255, PC/WAVO_….r., PC/APT_….r,
PC/trade_r, PC/wavo5_r, PC/class.1000, PC/WAVO_..b…,
PC/APT_..b.., PC/circuit_b, PC/wavo3_b, PC/Billing_RWB,
PC/Billing_TNW, PC/Billing_US1, PC/1stAcc_947825,
PC/bureau_CG, PC/port_01, PC/port_96, PC/port_31,
PC/port_19, PC/port_91, PC/contact, PC/website,

Leave a Reply

Fatal error: Call to undefined function show_subscription_checkbox() in /home3/steer/public_html/ on line 95