Library Foundation Opens Nominations for 2012 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

INDIANAPOLIS, Feb. 7, 2012 /PRNewswire/ — A call for nominations for the 2012
Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award opens on Feb. 7 and extends through
March 23, 2012. The award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library
Foundation and recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary
landscape in Indiana and across the nation. It is funded by the generosity of
The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

The goal of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award is to elevate the
written arts in Indiana, inspiring Hoosiers’ love of reading and drawing greater
attention to “home-grown” literary greats. The award celebrates authors whose
quality work has made, or has the potential to make, a lasting public impact.

The Indiana Authors Award invites involvement beginning with the nomination
process and continues throughout the year with outreach to organizations serving
readers and writers and an interactive website, culminating with a day of free
public programs and a ticketed Award Dinner on Sept. 29, 2012 at the Central
Library in Indianapolis.

Nomination forms are available until March 23 at
The nomination process is quick, easy and free of charge. Participants who
nominate an author by March 1 will be entered for a chance to receive special
prizes from the Library Foundation. Complete information and eligibility
guidelines are included on the nomination forms. Authors nominated in previous
years, who were not selected as award recipients, are eligible for nomination
again in the 2012 Authors Award.

Any published writer who was born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at
least five consecutive years is eligible for nomination. A nine-member,
statewide award panel will select winners in three categories from the publicly
nominated authors:

— National Author – $10,000 prize: A writer with Indiana ties, but whose
work is known and read throughout the country. National authors will be
evaluated on their entire body of work.
— Regional Author – $7,500 prize: A writer who is well-known and respected
throughout the state of Indiana. Regional authors will be evaluated on
their entire body of work.
— Emerging Author – $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than
two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published
within the last 10 years. Emerging authors will be evaluated on these
specific works.

In addition to a cash prize, each author’s Indiana hometown public library will
receive a grant of $2,500 from the Library Foundation.

“The panel of literary educators and professionals who select the winning
authors is amazing, but their work can’t begin until readers from across the
state send them nominations,” said Marianne Glick, vice chairwoman of The Glick
Fund. “Even if you’ve nominated your favorite writers in the past, definitely
visit to make sure they’re in the running this year.”

Last year’s awards included a public program celebrating Indiana authors and an
award dinner raising more than $68,000 for the Library Foundation. At the
dinner, Margaret McMullan was presented with the National Author award while
Helen Frost received the Regional Author award and Micah Ling received the
Emerging Author award. These authors, as well as their hometown Indiana
libraries, each received grants ranging from $2,500 to $10,000.

To submit a 2012 nomination or to learn more, contact The Indianapolis Public
Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

SOURCE The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

Leave a Reply

Fatal error: Call to undefined function show_subscription_checkbox() in /home3/steer/public_html/ on line 95